Award for Journalists, Whistleblowers and Defenders of the Right to Information

2018 GUE/NGL Award


“Journalists, Whistleblowers and Defenders of the Right to Information”

In honor of



Courageous, dogged and determined, Daphne Caruana Galizia was a most formidable journalist and whistleblower whose fearless crusade to undercover the truth was what ultimately led to her brutal and untimely death in October 2017.

  Assassinated in a car bomb in her native Malta, Caruana Galizia had spent years as a thorn in the side of politicians, the mafia and multinationals. Individuals with something to hide were relentlessly pursued in the name of public service.

  Caruana Galizia was the embodiment of a journalist, a whistleblower and defender to the right of information. As a Maltese and a European, she truly upheld  the freedom of expression as a basic human right to inform and educate.

  Feared by those with something to hide, but respected by her peers and loved by her readers and followers, the voice of Malta may have been silenced but Caruana Galizia’s immense legacy lives on.




Call for Nominations

GUE/NGL group at the European Parliament has the pleasure of announcing the inaugural GUE/NGL award for ‘Journalists, Whistleblowers and Defenders of the Right to Information’ for individuals or groups who have been intimidated and/or persecuted for uncovering the truth and exposing it to the public. The award aims to support and disseminate their work in an effort to safeguard and promote the freedom of press and the right to information. The chosen winner will receive 5,000.00 euros for his/her work and an opportunity to speak at the European Parliament.

This year, the award will be dedicated to the Maltese journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia who was assassinated in October 2017. Her work focused on shedding light into corruption cases in Malta but her tenacity and fearlessness were also crucial in uncovering the ‘Panama Papers’ scandal that included 11.5 million files from the database of the world’s fourth biggest offshore law firm, Mossack Fonseca being leaked to the public.


Guidelines for nominations

·         Any Individual or Group is eligible  for the nomination

·         The nominees must be Journalists, Whistleblowers or Defenders of the Right to Information who has/have been threatened and /or persecuted for their work

·         Only one nomination per individual

·         The language of the application material must be in English (official English translation required if original material is in any other language).

·         Proof – materials for all qualified nominees for the award include text/audio/video files.


Selection Process

The call for nominations will be opened till the 22nd April 2018, 23.59 CET.

A mixed jury of renowned journalists, whistleblowers and GUE/NGL MEPs will assess the nominations and announce the nominees in mid-May 2018.

The winner(s) will be announced at a GUE/NGL ceremony on 29th May 2018 at the European Parliament in Strasbourg.

Nominations should be submitted via email:



Matthew Caruana Galizia, Journalist, ICIJ

Can Dundar, Journalist

Juliette Garside, Journalist, The Guardian

Stephanie Gibaut, UBS Whistleblower

Stelios Kouloglou, MEP GUE/NGL

Marisa Matias, MEP GUE/NGL

Frederik Obermaier, Journalist, Süddeutsche Zeitung

Gianna Papadakou, Journalist

Miguel Urbán, MEP GUE/NGL



Find more information here